Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2012

COLUMBUS — Five outstanding men’s college players – Richard Dallmer of the University of Cincinnati, Larry Harris of Pittsburgh, Bud Olsen of Louisville, Garry Roggenburk of Dayton and David West of Xavier – are among the 16 individuals who will enter the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame in 2012.

Selections are made by a panel of Ohio college All-Americans, NBA Hall of Fame players and Ohio high school and college coaches, among others.

Dallmer became UC’s first All-American in 1947 and closed out his career in 1950 as the Bearcats’ all-time leading scorer with 1,098 points. Harris, a Cleveland native, was the all-time leading scorer at Pitt with 1,914 points when he graduated in 1978.

Olsen, who played at Belmont High School in Dayton, scored 1,192 points for Louisville’s Cardinals from 1959-62. Roggenburk, a Cleveland native, was the leading scorer and rebounder as the Dayton Flyers won their first National Invitation Tournament championship in 1962.

West, now a member of the New Orleans Hornets of the National Basketball Association, was Division I national player of the year in 2003 when he averaged 20.1 points and 11.8 rebounds as XU had its second straight 26-6 season.

The quartet is part of a class that includes college coaches Don Callan (Cedarville), Darrell Hedric (Miami) and Laurie Pirtle (Cincinnati) along with ultra-successful high school coaches Ed Zink (Beavercreek), Dick Kortokrax (Kalida) and Joe Petrocelli (Kettering Alter).

Callan was men’s head basketball coach at Cedarville University for 24 years and director of athletics for 23. The school’s gymnasium (Callan Athletic Center) was renamed for him in 2003.

Hedric’s Miami men’s teams compiled a 216-157 record from 1970-1984, and Pirtle had a successful 22-year run as UC women’s coach after playing at Hilliard High School and Ohio State. Kortokrax and Petrocelli are the only Ohio prep coaches with 800 victories, and Zink is the winningest girls coach in the state, with 659.

Mark Price, an outstanding player at Georgia Tech, is being honored for his nine solid years with the Cleveland Cavaliers of the NBA.

Also in the group are: Vonda Ward, a star at Trinity High School in Garfield Heights and the University of Tennessee; and Amy Tucker, a native of Springboro, who excelled as a player at Ohio State and has been associate head coach at Stanford for 26 years.

Alice Norris Roberts Harbarger, who played basketball at Shawnee High School in the 1930s, has been selected as the outstanding women’s basketball contributor before 1976.

Walsh University has two teams being recognized – the 1998 women’s NAIA national champions and the 2005 men’s NAIA champs. Willard High School is being saluted for winning 69 consecutive regular season games between February 23, 1979, and December 28, 1982.

Three Beavercreek High School women’s teams, all coached by Zink, will be recognized for their Division I state championships in 1995, 2001 and 2003.

The basketball official being inducted is Ron Knight.

The 2012 Class will be formally inducted May 19, 2012 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.  For more information or to purchase tickets, visit www.ohiobasketballhalloffame.com or contact Sheila Fox, Event Coordinator at sfox@eventinsite.com or 614-547-2160.


Animated Social Media Icons Powered by Acurax Wordpress Development Company
Facebook IconYouTube IconTwitter IconFollow us on Google+Follow us on Google+