Skip to main content

Central State College, NAIA National Champions, 1965 & 1968

Class of 2008


Central State College Men, 1965, 68

Central State College won NAIA National Championships in 1965 and 1968. The Marauders had a dominant team in 1965, going unbeaten in 30 games. They won national tournament games by 21, 14, 9 and 16 points before trouncing Oklahoma Baptist, 85-51, in the title game. CSU’s Kenneth Wilburn was named most valuable player in the tournament. He grabbed 90 rebounds in five games – an average of 18 per game. Three years later the Marauders won with a strong defensive team that limited foes to 56.6 points per game. They won national tournament games by 17, 7, 19 and 31 points to set up a narrow 51-48 decision over Fairmont State for the championship. The 1968 team finished with a 32-4 record.

1965 Central State NAIA National Champions
1965 Central State NAIA National Champions

Left to Right: Ed Couts, WC Lucas, Head Coach; Ken Wilburn, Dewayne Lipkins, Ed Waller, Tim Avery, Ted Day, Avery Godfrey, William Anderson, Ed Bryan, Bob Butler, Terry Taylor, Darius Cunningham, Jerome Tillman, Robert Hunt, Norman Ward, Assistant Coach.

Centra State University
1967-68 Team

L-R Front Row: Graham Russell, Robert Moore, Bobby Jenkins, Clarence Lane. Second Row: Keith Smith, Allen Thigpen, Joe Morris, Leon Singleton, Roy Hinton. Third Row: John Hike, Sterling Quant, Paul Bullard, Chris Buchanan.