Skip to main content


University of Dayton Women, 1980

University of Dayton Women 1980

Back Row: Assistant Coach Randy Mascorella, Carol Lammers, Journey Beard, Ann Meyers, Beverly Crusoe, Mary McDonald, Marlene Jarzynka, Head Coach Maryalyce Jeremiah.
Front Row: Trainer Pat Jayson, Mary Carol Gleason, Sue Youngpeter, Julie Johnson, Tammy Stritenberger, Pat Hoffman, Kim Ramsey, Manager Donna Schwartz.


In 1979, the University of Dayton women’s basketball team had a 33-3 record but fell one game short of winning the American Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Division II national championship.  In 1980, the Lady Flyers got it done.  All-American Ann Meyers scored 40 points as Dayton (36-2) drubbed College of Charleston, 83-53, in the championship game at UD Arena.  Dayton prepared for post-season play with a schedule that included six Big Ten opponents. Coach Maryalyce Jeremiah’s team went 5-1 against them, defeating Indiana, Illinois, Purdue, Michigan and Ohio State and losing to league champion Northwestern. With All-American Beverly Crusoe and Carol Lammers regularly providing performances that earned all-state recognition, Dayton collected many lopsided victories, including a record-setting 121-53 decision over Mt. St. Joseph’s College. There were winning streaks of 16 and 18 games.