Skip to main content


University of Findlay Men, 2009 National Champions

University of Findlay, 2009 National Champions

Front Row (Left to Right): Amanda Worstell, Amy Will, Marcus Parker, Nick Coon, Tyler Evans, Aaron Laflin, Nathan Hyde, Justin Schomaeker, Cory Britton. Back Row (Left to Right): Ron Niekamp, Dan Shardo, Rob Marsden, Antoine Wilhite, Morgan Lewis, Lee Roberts, Josh Bostic, Jason Wehri, Michael Agunga, Tyler Sparks, Tyler Niekamp, Charlie Ernst. Not pictured: Assistant Coach Dave Krauss.

Year Inducted: 2013

The University of Findlay’s men’s basketball team had a dream season in 2008-09, going unbeaten in 36 games enroute to the NCAA Division II national championship. It was the best record in the history of Division II. Coach Ron Niekamp was selected as coach of the year and Josh Bostic, a popular 6-5 senior from Columbus, was voted NCAA Division II player of the year. The Oilers breezed through the regular season with a 27-0 record but they had some heart-stopping moments in the playoffs. Although Bostic scored 37 points in the Regional final against Bellarmine, Findlay needed an overtime to wrestle an 89-86 decision. Moving to the Elite 8 at Springfield, Mass., the Oilers had to play an extra period to beat LIU-CW Post, 89-79 with center Lee Roberts scoring 23 points. The semi-final was also a squeaker as Bostic scored 19 and Morgan Lewis contributed an efficient 16 in a 67-65 victory over Central Missouri. That set the stage for a dramatic 56-53 defeat of Cal Poly Pomona in the championship game when reserve Tyler Evans sank a 3-point shot at the buzzer. It was his only basket of the game.

Watch the University of Findlay’s Enshrinement Speech: