Skip to main content

St. Henry High School Boys

2018 Inductees


St. Henry High School Boys, 1990-1991

In 1990 and 1991 a tall and talented St. Henry High School boys basketball team became only the second team to win back-to-back state championships in different divisions. Coach Fran Guilbault's 1990 group defeated previously unbeaten Youngstown Liberty, 71-60, for the Division III crown. The 1991 team trounced Tri-Village of New Madison, 71-45, in the Division IV title game. The top six in St. Henry's 1990 lineup averaged 6-foot-4 and over 200 pounds. They included 6-foot-4 Pat Droesch, 6-4 Bob Hoying, 6-6 Kevin Niekamp, 6-2 Scott Brunswick, and 6-5 Terry Niekamp with 6-4 Scott Heitkamp coming off the bench. Only Droesch and Terry Niekamp graduated that year, so the Redskins were loaded again in 1991. Youngstown Liberty took a 27-0 record into the 1990 championship game and had Ohio's Mr. Basketball, Bob Patton, who was averaging 21 points per game. Patton sunk five of six 3-point shots in the first half but fourth-ranked St. Henry had a 40-37 lead at the intermission. St. Henry coach Guilbault assigned 6-foot-4 Bob Hoying to guard the 6-1 Patton in the second half, and Hoying limited Patton to one field goal in 11 attempts as St. Henry surged to victory.   St. Henry had no players on the AP All-Ohio Division III team in 1990, but that oversight was rectified in 1991 when both Bob Hoying and Scott Brunswick made the Division IV first team and the Redskins were ranked No. 1 in the state. They justified that ranking in the 1991 state tournament when they crushed Kirtland, 59-43, and manhandled Tri-Village in the title game. Kevin Niekamp, St. Henry's 6-6, 255-pound center, scored 20 points against Kirtland. He led the Redskins in scoring in 1990-91 with a 16.2 average. Brunswick averaged 14.8, Hoying 14.3 and Scott Heitkamp 11.7.  

St. Henry 1990 Team
1990 Team

Standing: Al Summers, Assistant Coach; Tony Glass, Kevin Niekamp, Terry Niekamp, Pat Droesch, Bobby Hoying, Fran Guilbault, Head Coach.
Seated: Denny Lefeld, Scott Brunswick, Jeff Hartings, Scott Heitkamp, Rob Beyke, Scott Gels, Josh Link

St Henry 1991 Team
1991 Team

Standing: Head Coach Fran Guilbault, Rob Beyke, Tony Glass, Kevin Niekamp, Bryan Homan, Bobby Hoying, Scott Heitkamp, Al Summers, Assistant Coach.
Seated: Greg Bruns, Brad Beyke, Scott Brunswick, Steve Gels, Josh Link