Skip to main content


Ohio Northern University Men, 1993

Ohio Northern Men, 1993

Pictured: Kneeling, L to R: D’Artis Jones, Greg Smith, Mark Gooden, Jody May, Jon Cook.
Standing, L to R: Head Coach Joe Campoli, Joe Previte (child), Tony Gholson, Aaron Madry, Nick Bertke, Tony Vogel, Ben Curry, Todd Parker, Kevin Wysocki, Jim Miller, Jon Lepinski, Assistant Coach Jeff Coleman, Assistant Coach Dave Cox.


With first-year head coach Joe Campoli calling the shots, the 1992-93 Ohio Northern University men’s basketball team won the NCAA Division III national championship with a 28-2 record.  After winning the Ohio Athletic Conference regular season title with a 17-1 record, the Polar Bears suffered their second loss in the semi-finals of the OAC Tournament. Then they bounced back impressively with five straight NCAA Tournament victories. The Polar Bears trounced Wooster, 88-62, at the ONU Sports Center before knocking off Christopher Newport (Va.), 83-67, and Calvin College, 67-56, to advance to the NCAA Finals in Buffalo, N.Y.  Aaron Madry scored 29 points as ONU rallied late in the second half for a 74-73 victory over Massachusetts-Dartmouth in a semifinal. Mark Gooden and D’Artis Jones each scored 21 points in the championship game as ONU held off Augustana (Ill.), 71-68.  Campoli was named national Coach of the Year.