Skip to main content

Bob Von Kaenel

2024 Inductee


Bob Von Kaenel

Bob Von Kaenel launched his coaching career in 1978 at alma mater Strasburg High School with both the Girls Reserve Basketball team and 7th grade Boys Basketball team. After moving to Tuscarawas Valley he contributed 11 years as the Head Boys Basketball Coach, Girls Track Coach, and 4 years as Assistant Football Coach. While at Tusky Valley, he led his team to a Division III State Runner-Up finish in1988. 

In 1991, Coach Von Kaenel became Head Boys Coach at Dover High School, where he amassed a coaching record of 741-270 as of the 2023-24 season. The impressive record lands him among the top five winningest Boys High School Coaches in Ohio history. He took his 24-3 Tornadoes to the state tournaments in 1998 when they finished as Division II State Runner-Up. The 2004 team earned a 22-4 record and returned to the Final Four. In fact, every Dover team had a winning record across his tenure and in 11 seasons they finished with 20 or more victories. 

Von Kaenel’s highlights include 19 Conference, 22 Sectional, and 9 District Championships over the course of his storied career. He’s been named AP State Coach of the Year three times—in 1988, 1995 and 1999. At the local level, he was selected as Conference Coach of the Year 14 times and District 5 Coach of the Year 12 times. He coached in the District 5 East-West All-Star Games, Ohio North-South All-Star Game, Ohio-West Virginia Classic, Wendy’s 4-State Classic, and the Ohio-Kentucky All-Star Game. 

In 2005, he was named the OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics, and Integrity Award Winner for Boys Basketball in the State of Ohio. That same year, he was also selected by the National Federation Coaches Association as the 2005 Ohio Coach of the Year and Mideast Region Coach of the Year. Von Kaenel earned the coveted Paul Walker Award for outstanding coaching and service to the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association in 2006. He has been secretary since 2001 and served as president from 1998-2000. He was enshrined in the OHSBCA Hall of Fame in 2016 and in the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame in 2017.